In 1956, the Anderlecht municipal administration came up with the idea, via its public works department, of creating a miniature golf course on its territory integrated into the network of green spaces based on the principles of the park system. The council’s plan was, in this way, fully in keeping with the prevailing craze for this leisure activity. At the time, within the Brussels urban area alone, the municipalities of Forest/Vorst, Uccle/Ukkel, Jette and, a bit later, Schaerbeek/Schaarbeek, already had their own minigolf courses which offered a way of not only catering to the needs of citizens, but also contributed to municipal coffers since such facilities were highly profitable over the short term. Anderlecht’s miniature golf course is laid out within a triangular block bordered by Avenue G. Stassart/G. Stassartlaan, Boulevard Th. Lambert/Th.Lambertlaan and Rue C. Debussy/C. Debussystraat, an urban block that is devoted to green space rather than building due to the nature of the soil (it is located at the bottom of the Pede Valley). It has eighteen holes set within a picturesque garden adorned with copses, rockeries and flowerbeds, the central element of which is an ornamental pond overlooked by a panoramic terrace. Anderlecht minigolf quickly became a great success, welcoming, only four years after its official opening on 19 September 1959, some 30,000 visitors.