Bois du Laerbeek/Laarbeekbos

The Laerbeek site was originally a quarry operated by the monks of Dieleghem Abbey. Strangely, the site was called “het laer”, meaning “cleared land”. When quarrying ceased at the end of the 18th century, the spring-filled hilly terrain was planted with trees to provide a source of income. These grew into stands of poplar, beech and ash-alder. The wood, which extends over an area of around 30 hectares, is part of King Baudouin Regional Park. Picturesque hollows are dotted here and there along walks, adding to the unique charm of this ancient 200 year old wood. The flowering of numerous woodland plants is another appealing feature of Laerbeek Wood. Through the seasons, wild garlic, wood anemone, or a myriad of bluebells, as well as lily of the valley, marsh marigold, pilewort, violet, bugle, bittercress, valerian, marsh willowherb, purple loosestrife, yellow loosestrife and primrose can all be seen! (Listed 18/11/1976)


Family walk to explore Laerbeek Wood (flora, fauna, history).
Sunday only at 11h00 (duration: 2 hours). Meet in front of Chalet du Laerbeek, Avenue du Laerbeek/Laarbeeklaan 145. In French only. Please note that bookings are preferred. E-mail steve.c.braem@gmail.com. Up to 15 people per walk. In cooperation with Amis de la Forêt de Soignes.

Practical information

  • avenue du Laerbeek
    1090 Brussels
    • B
      UZ-Brussel