Brussels Park

Over two hundred years old, Brussels Park was developed at the end of the 18th century as a continuation of Place Royale/Koningsplein, on part of the former Warande or Garenne estates which had been used, since the time of the Dukes of Burgundy, as a game reserve for the Coudenberg court. At the time of its creation, almost 1,220 trees had to be felled, with 435 being preserved. The park was laid out in 1775-1776 by Austrian Joachim _Zinner and Frenchman Barnabé Guimard around three major axes evoking the Masonic symbols, which were very much in vogue in Brussels in the Age of Enlightenment. The site is composed of two small valleys, remnants of the original park, woodland groves, trellised lime trees marking the perimeter of the park and a network of wide pathways offering long views bordered by plane or horse chestnut trees converging towards two large ornamental lakes, one circular the other octagonal. A remarkable set of statues, taken from the former maze in the ducal park, from Château de Tervueren and from the Tour et Taxis townhouse, decorate this historical site that also boasts an elegant bandstand built in 1841 by architect J. Cluysenaer. (Listed 21/06/1971)

Practical information

  • Parc de Bruxelles
    1000 Brussels
    • M
      Arts-Loi/Parc – Kunst-Wet/Park
    • M
      Arts-Loi/Kunst-Wet
    • T
      Parc/Park
    • B
      Ducale/Hertog