Isn’t it strange to find, right in the middle of Brussels, a woodland park containing still-intact remnants of the pure beech wood that makes up the Sonian Forest? Plantations of beech trees cover the steep small valleys and share the 23 hectares of Duden Park with dense underbrush containing maple and ash, with luzula and ferns at their feet. Only the northern part was developed into a park. The property, once owned by Forest Abbey, passed to the Mosselman and then the Duden family in 1869. However, King Léopold II became its owner, albeit without usufruct, in 1895 and then transferred it to the state in 1900 via the Royal Trust. In 1912, after the death of the widow Duden, the last usufructuary of the site, it was finally possible to open the park to the public. Today, walkers and sports enthusiasts come to enjoy the steep picturesque pathways of this exceptional green space, which contains a number of listed remarkable trees such as two Atlas cedars, a thornless honeylocust, a China tree and a Chinese cork tree. (Listed 26/10/1973)
Passed on walking tour Walking tour “Duden and Jupiter: a verdant heritage”.