Home and garden of architect Pierre-Victor Jamaer

Architect Pierre-Victor Jamaer obtained planning permission to build his private home in 1874. He drew up the plans himself, adopting a Flemish Neo-Renaissance style even though, in his work, he frequently confined himself to the Neo-Gothic style, both for Maison du Roi/Broodhuis and the Eglise de la Chapelle/Kapellekerk that he had restored. Inside, the architect gave particular attention to the decoration, installing a beautiful staircase with wrought iron banister, a Louis XVI style parlour and a Neo-Renaissance style dining room. The preponderance of stuccoes, mosaics, decorative ironwork, polished marble and enamelled ceramics serve to create an opulent interior with a unique atmosphere. The same attention to detail is apparent in the garden, with the architect, in keeping with the fashion of the time, constructing a faux rock imitation grotto with numerous concrete elements. The structure is built in the corner formed by the left and back walls of the garden. The entrance is framed by columns of stalagmites and stalactites that have been joined together, and the whole even contains the remnants of a water system. Right next to it stands the Faun of Weekes, a statue listed in the catalogue of the company Blaton-Aubert in 1889, one year before Jamaer sold his home. (Listed 08/08/1988)

Guided tours available all day (last group at 17h15). In cooperation with Arkadia and Bruxelles Bavard.

Practical information

  • avenue de Stalingrad 62
    1000 Brussels
    • Saturday and Sunday from 10h00 to 18h00 (last admission at 17h15)
      access is only permitted on guided tours (10 people per group)
    • T
      Lemonnier
    • B
      Lemonnier