The Maelbeek/Maalbeek stream, which had its source not far from the monastic buildings of the Abbey of La Cambre, is now partially channelled and of the seven ponds that formed the stream, only the two large ponds we know today as the Ixelles Ponds survive. The first, which once covered present-day Place Flagey/Eugène Flageyplein, was partially drained around 1860. The second was formed by the merging of the Pennebroeck and Ghévaert ponds. The engineer Victor Besme landscaped the whole neighbourhood in 1871 and created the picturesque setting that reflects the penchant of the time for parks landscaped in the English style. No fewer than 59 remarkable trees have been listed on the banks of the ponds, including beautiful groves of plane trees, silver limes, maples and poplars. Listed since 1976, the site boasts a set of sculptures and a recently restored large rockery with imitation rocks, ruins and a truncated column which serve as a backdrop for a waterfall that is unique in Brussels. (Listed 18/11/1976)
Walking tours “A charming grotto on the listed Ixelles Ponds site” and “In search of sgraffitos…”.