Léopold Park

The agreement signed in 1892 between Mayor Charles Buls and industrialist Ernest Solvay provided for the creation of a veritable city of science on the Léopold Park site. Numerous buildings were in fact constructed, but at the expense of the green space, which was already home to the Natural History Museum in the former Redemptorist Convent. However, today, walkers are still able to enjoy the lower part of the park, with its surviving vast pond, the last remnant of the rural Maelbeek Valley. The park owes its present-day layout to landscape architect Louis Fuchs and architects Alphonse Balat and Gédéon Bordiau who, in 1851, designed a beautiful English-style landscape garden of rolling terrain and winding paths. It was soon transformed into a zoo, as still recalled in the inscription at the Chaussée d’Etterbeek/Etterbeeksesteenweg entrance. The former sea lion pool, which collects the water from a lively stream zigzagging its way down the hill, still stands as a reminder of the park’s past function. More than sixty specimens in the park are included on the Region’s list of remarkable trees, including a beautiful stand of bald cypress and horse chestnut trees, three dawn redwood trees and three Korean Euodia trees. (Listed 18/11/1976)

Practical information

  • rue Belliard/chaussée d’Etterbeek
    1000 Brussels
    • M
      Maelbeek/Maalbeek
    • B
      Parc Léopold/Leopoldspark