The street-facing building at no. 147 Chaussée de Haecht/Haachtse_steenweg conceals a residence built in 1826 for a rich linen merchant named Charles-Louis Eenens. In 1876, it was increased in height by one floor and flanked by two projecting wings structured by tall pilasters. Between 1894 and 1899, an Eclectic style brick tower was added and the stables extended. While the exterior of the building is in keeping with the Neoclassical style, the interior boasts a series of drawing rooms with decorative elements borrowed from the Louis XV, Louis XVI and Flemish neo-Renaissance styles, all illustrating the varying distinct tastes in vogue at the time. A fine example of an aristocratic dwelling from the Belle Époque period in Schaerbeek, the residence of the Terlinden family, its last owners, also featured a garden that, today, consists of a pond surrounded by grassy spaces flanked by trellised trees. The pathways are bordered by flowerbeds and trees. The municipality has managed the property since 1950. It has established the Maison des Arts/Kunsthuis or “House of the Arts” on the site, the setting for exhibitions, concerts, conferences and other cultural events. (Listed 28/05/2015)
Exhibition “Schaerbeek parks and landscapes in municipal collections”. The rooms in the Maison des Arts will be home to paintings, old documents and drawings from municipal collections reflecting the taste of artists in the 19th and 20th centuries for these views of Schaerbeek.