Marie-José Park

Covering an area of 6 hectares, Marie-José Park was designed by architect and town planner Louis Van der Swaelmen, who transformed the forested Oostendael estate into an English-style landscape park. He made good use of the ponds and picturesque undergrowth abandoned to the Brabant vegetation, imagining a green space with two faces: one, consisting of flat terrain with a formal, landscaped appearance, close to the main entrance, the other conserving the original hilly aspect of the site. While the Japanese garden has disappeared, there is still a small bridge with concrete guardrails designed to imitate branches, a type of decoration that was very popular with landscape architects of the time. Located between Boulevard Edmond Machtens/Edmond Machtenslaan, Avenue Joseph Baeck/Joseph Baecklaan and Avenue De Roovere/De Rooverelaan, the park was officially opened in 1922 by Princess Marie-José, daughter of King Albert. Today, it contains numerous remarkable trees and, in the wilder section of the park, an interesting undergrowth of vegetation consisting of a mixture of wood anenome, adder’s root, ivy, pilewort, ferns and sedge. (Listed 25/02/1999)

Information stand on Bruxelles Environnement being given responsibility for the management of the park, with a survey on public expectations and walking tours with the manager and wardens. Saturday and Sunday from 10h00 to 16h00. Starting point: centre of the park.

Practical information

  • avenue De Roovere
    1080 Brussels
    • M
      Gare de l’Ouest/Weststation
    • T
      Gare de l’Ouest/Weststation
    • B
      Gare de l’Ouest/Weststation