Museum of Funerary Art – Former Ernest Salu workshop

During the golden age of funerary art, the Salu workshops were undoubtedly the most renowned in the capital. The first in the family to be initiated into sculpture was Ernest Salu, whose master was Guillaume Geefs. He had workshops built close to Laeken cemetery which continued to grow over the years until their closure in 1984. Nowadays, the buildings which once reverberated to the sounds of the stonemason’s hammer and chisel have been transformed into a museum of funerary art by the non-profit association Epitaaf. Completly preserved, the unique complex is home to an important collection of moulds and casts. An ode to blue stone, the shop window and sculpted pilaster and pediment facade introduced the world of the Salu dynasty. At the rear, several workshops are connected to the home of the sculptors by a gallery. Further on, two eagles keep watch over an imposing doorway that leads to a delightful winter garden built in 1912. A popular feature of mansions of the time, such gardens offered an ideal environment for exotic and native varieties of plants. (Listed 14/05/1992)

Practical information

  • parvis Notre-Dame 16
    1020 Brussels
    • Saturday and Sunday from 10h00 to 18h00
    • M
      Bockstael
    • T
      Princesse Clémentine/Prinses Clementina
    • B
      Artistes/Kunstenaars