The Neckersgat site is first mentioned in 1299. At the time, it fell under the feudal court of Affligen Abbey. The existing mill buildings date from the 17th century, following major works carried out by the Gaucheret family in 1666-1667. The mill house, outbuildings and the building containing the machinery surround a central courtyard, a traditional Brabantine layout. Once used to produce oil, the mill was used for grain from 1745 onwards until it ceased operation towards 1918. The building was then entrusted to the National Charity for Disabled War Veterans, created after the First World War, an institution that is recalled by an ironwork gallery erected beside the right wing of the building. The Neckersgat Mill, one of only two (the other is the Calevoet Mill) remaining within the municipality of Uccle, was a favourite subject of painters and engravers drawn by the picturesque setting of the site. It is still surrounded by vegetable gardens, reminders of a rural landscape in an urban environment. Around the mill, still occupied by the workshop of wrought iron craftsman Jean Seydel, beehives have been installed. (Listed 19/04/1977)
Demonstrations in the forge.
Presentation and explanations on the beehives.
Music and polyrhythms activity.