Private house owned by the architect Pierre Victor Jamaer

7
Private house owned by the architect Pierre Victor Jamaer

The architect Pierre Victor Jamaer obtained planning permission to build his private home in 1874. He drew up the plans himself, adopting a Flemish Neo-Renaissance style, although in his work he frequently confined himself to the Neo-Gothic style, as seen in the Maison du Roi/Broodhuis and in his restoration of the Eglise de la Chapelle/Kapellekerk. The brick walls were richly faced with blue stone, which not only highlights the joints but also enhances the plinth course, with its bosses, while the front door was given an opulent-looking oculus and the bay windows have moulded surrounds, likewise featuring bosses. Accentuating the verticality of the structure, a central wooden bow window extends over two floors, set on corbels in the form of reclining lions. It supports a loggia with a balustrade, featuring ornate wooden decoration and surmounted by a gabled double saddle roof. Inside, the architect gave particular attention to the decoration, installing a beautiful staircase with a wrought iron bannister, a Louis XVI style parlour and a Neo-Renaissance style dining room with an impressive fireplace. The preponderance of stuccowork, mosaics, decorative ironwork, polished marble and enamelled ceramics serves to create an opulent interior with a unique atmosphere. The house recently underwent an exemplary restoration process, carried out by a genuine enthusiast. (Listed 08/08/1988)

Practical information

  • Avenue de Stalingrad/Stalingradlaan 62
    1000 Brussels
    • Sat. & Sun. from 10h00 to 18h00 (last admission at 17h30)
      only accessible within the framework of the activities
    • M
      Gare du Midi/Zuidstation
    • T
      Lemonnier
    • B
      Gare du Midi/Zuidstation
    • B
      Chapelle/Kapellekerk
    • B
      Anneessens