In 1884, Émile Devos, a rich Brussels entrepreneur, acquired a site then in use as a sand and stone quarry. There he built a house that he continued to extend in a picturesque style, taking his inspiration directly from traditional Brabant rural architecture. He also surrounded it with a beautiful garden. He died in 1942, followed by his wife in 1945. Bequeathed to the municipality, the house became a museum and the park, augmented by a neighbouring property, was opened to the public. This second property, the last home of painter Constant Montald, a major figure in Idealism, had been acquired in 1944 by the municipality, which decided to combine the two green spaces. Roodebeek Park was created and officially opened in 1948. A woodland style park, it contains numerous different types of trees, including American oak, copper beech, black locust, horse chestnut, ash, sycamore, elm and lime. As for the hops, bluebells and Solomon’s seal, they have colonised the undergrowth of the wood. More than thirty different species of bird have found refuge in the park, including greenfinches, nuthatches and siskins. (Listed 12/02/1998)
Walking tours presenting the flora and fauna of the park. Sunday only at 10h30 (French) and 14h30 (bilingual) (duration: 1 hour). Starting point: in front of the bandstand. Up to 25 people per tour.
In cooperation with Cercle des Naturalistes de Belgique and the Heritage Protection Department of the municipality of Woluwe-Saint-Lambert.
Walking tours focusing on the history of the park, its management and the most recent improvements. Saturday only at 10h30 (bilingual) and 14h30 (French) (duration: 1 hour). Starting point: entrance to the Roodebeek pavilion. Up to 25 people per tour.