Sewer Museum – Former city toll buildings

The two structures, a combination of white and blue stone, were built between 1835 and 1836, in a pure Neoclassical style based on a design by architect Antoine Payen. Situated back to back, the main façades feature an axial porch beneath a triangular pediment. On one, artist Josef Geefs sculpted Brussels in human form while, on the other, that of Trade. These pavillons d’octroi formed part of a barrier that allowed for the levying of a toll on goods entering the city. Since 1988, the two buildings have housed the City of Brussels Sewer Museum. The museum recounts the history of a sewerage system that, in 1847, was already 45 km in length, increasing to 110 km in 1878 before finally reaching today’s 350 km. On the tour, you will have the opportunity to access a channel of the Senne River, the vaulting of which marked an important stage in the capital’s layout, as well as the main sewer under Chaussée de Mons/Bergen_sesteenweg, which is still in use today. The tour provides an opportunity to explore the history of the Brussels sewer network as well as the sewer itself, which every day swallows thousands of cubic metres of wastewater as well as inflow water from drainage or ground water infiltration. It will also offer an insight into the maintenance required on such a system, certain sections of which are 200 years old! (Listed 22/04/1999)

Guided tours on Saturday and Sunday at 10h00, 11h00, 12h00, 13h00, 14h00, 15h00 and 16h00 (French) and at 10h30, 11h30, 12h30, 14h30 and 15h30 (Dutch). In cooperation with City of Brussels Museums.

Practical information

  • Porte d’Anderlecht
    1000 Brussels
    • Saturday and Sunday from 10h00 to 17h00
    • T
      Porte d’Anderlecht/Anderlechtsepoort
    • B
      Porte d’Anderlecht/Anderlechtsepoort