The building overlooking the Chaussée de Haecht/Haachtsesteenweg conceals a residence built in 1826 for a rich linen merchant by the name of Charles-Louis Eenens. In 1876, it was raised by one floor and flanked by two projecting wings structured by tall pilasters. Between 1894 and 1899, an Eclectic style brick tower was added and the stables extended. While the exterior of the building is in keeping with the Neoclassical style, the interior boasts a series of drawing rooms with decorative elements borrowed from the Louis XV, Louis XVI and Flemish neo-Renaissance styles, all illustrating the varying and distinct tastes in vogue at the time. The last remaining example of an aristocratic dwelling from the Belle Époque period in Schaerbeek, the residence of the Terlinden family, its last owners, also featured a garden that now consists of a pond surrounded by grassy spaces flanked by trellised trees. The pathways are bordered by flowerbeds and trees. The municipality, which has managed the property since 1950, has established the Maison des Arts or “House of the Arts” on the site. This is the setting for exhibitions, concerts, conferences and other cultural events. The staterooms on the ground floor are currently being renovated. (Listed 09/11/1993)
During the Heritage Days, the Estaminet café will be open on Sunday from 11h00 to 18h00 (serving brunch and snacks).