The Rouge-Cloître site

28
The Rouge-Cloître site

The priory of Rouge-Cloître was founded in 1369 and became one of the most important monastic sites of the Augustinian Canons in Brabant. It benefitted from the generosity of the Dukes of Brabant, and later from that of the Princes of Burgundy and their successors. Acquired by the State in 1910, all that remained of the former priory was an outer wall dating from the 15th century, the mill house dating from 1740, a gatehouse and one complete wing of the former cloister, redeveloped in the late 17th century. The location is not only rich in heritage, it is also of significant natural importance, its unique topography being due to the stone quarrying that was once carried out on the site. Of the original fifteen ponds only five remain, coupled with wetland areas, including a flooded alder wood traversed by canals with its own unique habitat in terms of insects, birds, amphibians and fish. Belladonna, nettle-leaved bellflower, orchid and wood sanicle grow on the site of the old sandstone quarry. This is the reason why part of the estate has been designated a nature reserve. In the area around the priory, the canons’ garden has been recreated and an exact replica of the original courtyard fountain has been rebuilt. Bordered by the tall trees of the forest, the meadows, valley and ornamental ponds of Rouge-Cloître stand as vestiges of a rural environment at the edge of the city. (Listed 16/11/1965)

Practical information

  • Rue du Rouge-Cloître/Rokloosterstraat 4
    1160 Brussels
    • M
      Herrmann-Debroux
    • T
      Auderghem-Forêt/Oudergem Woud
    • T
      Herrmann-Debroux
    • B
      Deux Chaussées/Tweesteenwegen
    • B
      ADEPS, Rouge-Cloître/Rood Klooster