Walckiers Park

You need to go back to the start of the 18th century to retrace the history of Walckiers Park, whose name comes from the family that owned it from 1765. The estate, with an elegant Classical-style château, had French-style formal gardens which were transformed into English-style Romantic gardens, reflecting the fashion at the time. Both the terrain and the park itself were modified, with ponds, a waterfall, a cold store and an orangery being added. A path bordered by the busts of famous figures was also created, a sort of Elysian fields leading to the entrance gate flanked by two sphinxes. A faux rock grotto and ruined passageway topped by an obelisk still survive from this time. Almost perfect replicas of supposed ruins or picturesque natural features, such places were part of the fantastical and imaginative creations of the Romantic period. At the end of the 19th century, the estate was acquired by the Institut de la Sainte-Famille but, in the 1950s, the state expropriated two thirds of the land to build a roadway connecting to the Antwerp motorway. Backfill from construction of the road was deposited on the site, forever changing the configuration of the area. However, the project was never completed. Today, Walckiers Park has a semi-natural appearance with its meadows dotted with clusters of trees, its tall mature trees, its orchards, its duck ponds and its wet meadow. (Listed 09/03/1995)

Guided tours “The two sides of Walckiers”. Sunday only at 10h00, 12h00, 14h00 and 16h00 (French) and at 10h00 and 14h00 (Dutch) (duration: 1.5 hours). Starting point: entrance to the Institut de la Sainte-Famille, Rue Chaumontel/Chaumontelstraat 9, Schaerbeek/Schaarbeek. In cooperation with Commission de l’Environnement de Bruxelles et Environs (CEBE) and the students taking the “Environmental Technician” option at Institut de la Sainte-Famille.

Practical information

  • rue Chaumontel 9
    1030 Brussels
      access is only permitted on guided tours
    • B
      Chaumontel